Free Trial
CEE FX

CZKPLN ‘Bear’ Consolidation Resumes

STIR FUTURES

Further Softening In Fed Hike Expectations

Real-time Actionable Insight

Get the latest on Central Bank Policy and FX & FI Markets to help inform both your strategic and tactical decision-making.

Free Access

Executive Summary:

08:00ET/13:00GMT/22:00 JST: President Joe Biden will hold virtual talks with Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida.

  • The White House was in damage control yesterday after Biden's presser appeared to contradict the government’s position on Ukraine and Build Back Better.
  • House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) said on Build Back Better: ‘This is a reconciliation bill. When people say, ‘Let’s divide it up’ ...they don’t understand the process.’
  • On Ukraine Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) said: 'I would like to ask the President what he was thinking? Because I don't believe you give Putin an inch. He'll take a mile.'
  • The US Army has made progress on its ‘pan-coronavirus’ vaccine ‘SpFN’. Several institutes and universities have programs ongoing to develop a ‘pan-coronavirus’ vaccine which would provide immunity to all variants and the US Army has shown effective data in early trials.
  • The final meeting in the US-Russia-NATO talks to de-escalate the Ukraine crisis is taking place today. US Secretary of State Antony Blinken is meeting with Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov at the President Wilson Hotel in Geneva.
  • Press conferences following talks will be held at approximately 13:00CET/12:00GMT/07:00ET

Please find the full article attached:

MNI POLITICAL RISK ANALYSIS – US Daily Brief 21-01-22 .pdf

MNI London Bureau | +44 203-865-3850 | adam.burrowes@marketnews.com
MNI London Bureau | +44 203-865-3850 | adam.burrowes@marketnews.com

To read the full story

Why Subscribe to

MarketNews.com

MNI is the leading provider

of news and intelligence specifically for the Global Foreign Exchange and Fixed Income Markets, providing timely, relevant, and critical insight for market professionals and those who want to make informed investment decisions. We offer not simply news, but news analysis, linking breaking news to the effects on capital markets. Our exclusive information and intelligence moves markets.

Our credibility

for delivering mission-critical information has been built over three decades. The quality and experience of MNI's team of analysts and reporters across America, Asia and Europe truly sets us apart. Our Markets team includes former fixed-income specialists, currency traders, economists and strategists, who are able to combine expertise on macro economics, financial markets, and political risk to give a comprehensive and holistic insight on global markets.