Trial now
AUSSIE 10-YEAR TECHS

(Z1) Off Lows, But Remains Weak

USDCAD TECHS

Still Vulnerable

AUDUSD TECHS

Bullish Price Sequence

Sign up now for free access to this content.

Please enter your details below and select your areas of interest.

Canadians go to the polls today, with the governing Liberal Party of PM Justin Trudeau and the main opposition Conservative Party of Erin O'Toole neck-and-neck in opinion polls.

  • Voting begins in the easternmost province of Newfoundland and Labrador at 0830 local time (0700ET, 1200BST, 1300CET), with the final polling stations closing in British Columbia at 1900PST (2200ET, 0300BST, 0400CET).
  • In the final set of opinion polls released on Sunday 19 September, the highest polling score for the Liberals was 33% and the party's largest lead over the Conservatives was 6%. The highest Conservative support level was also 33%, with its greatest lead over the Liberals standing at 4%.
  • Based on 338canada.com's election simulator, if the EKOS poll (which is the best poll for the Liberals) is an accurate projection of the final vote share then PM Trudeau's party could secure a majority in the House of Commons with 185 seats to the Conservatives' 84.
  • If the Forum Poll (the best for the Conservatives) is more accurate, though, then the simulator projects a hung parliament with the Conservatives as the largest party with 163 seats to the Liberals 121.

Source: @pollingcanada, MNI