Free Trial

New Liberal-National Coalition Leaders Elected


Peter Dutton takes the helm of the Liberal Party, while David Littleproud becomes the chief of the Nationals in the wake of leadership polls in two constituent parties of the Liberal-National Coalition.

  • The ballots were held after the Coalition's poor performance in Australia's federal election, which saw Scott Morrison's administration replaced by a Labour government. The Coalition is looking at a seriously reduced parliamentary representation, likely to just 58 or 59 seats, due to heavy losses suffered by the Liberals.
  • Peter Dutton is replacing Scott Morrison as Liberals' leader after running unopposed, with Sussan Ley set to become his deputy after another uncontested vote. Associated with the conservative wing of the party, Dutton promised to bring different factions together.
  • David Littleproud beat incumbent Barnaby Joyce and Darren Chester in a three-way race for National Party leadership. The election took more than two hours, one Sky News reported flagged the possibility of an initial tie between Littleproud and Joyce. NSW Senator Perin Davey will serve as Littleproud's deputy.

To read the full story



MNI is the leading provider

of intelligence and analysis on the Global Fixed Income, Foreign Exchange and Energy markets. We use an innovative combination of real-time analysis, deep fundamental research and journalism to provide unique and actionable insights for traders and investors. Our "All signal, no noise" approach drives an intelligence service that is succinct and timely, which is highly regarded by our time constrained client base.

Our Head Office is in London with offices in Chicago, Washington and Beijing, as well as an on the ground presence in other major financial centres across the world.